Blood sugar diet: day 15 of 56

So, the past weekend.  I allowed the shackles to come off a bit.  Over the weekend, I ate white bread rolls, and I also had curry twice.  Oh, and a couple of bottles of beer.  I probably blipped up a bit on weight, but on Monday I was back in the groove today.  I tend to think of it as being analogous to a prisoner going on weekend leave and returning to HMP Wherever.  (Vocab note: HMP – Her Majesty’s Prison.)

Since the weekend I have been as good as gold, albeit with about ten Haribo sweets altogether.  I had been tempted to eat a Halbeshänchen (half a rotisserie chicken) on the way to a meeting yesterday evening, but instead chose to enjoy a nice home-made omelette (mushroom, ham and sliced gouda cheese – most pleasing to the palate).

Yesterday I cycled to a church meeting in glorious sunshine.  I cycled back in the dark.  I wore my Union Jack Flag cycling top and Union Flag helmet.  The rationale was not patriotism, but somewhat more prosaic.  One month ago, I could not get that top on.  Well, maybe I could have, but I would have done a very good impression of Doctor David Banner turning into the Incredible Hulk, with the slow rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr-rip sound of shirt material slowly tearing.

Yesterday evening the top fitted me, albeit slightly tightly, but it certainly came down below my belly button.  I shall keep wearing the top every time I go cycling to measure progress in terms of looser clothes, as well as scales being friendlier.

Here I am in Union Flab Flag clothing.  It turned a few heads as joggers and cyclists headed past me along the banks of the River Rhine…

UnionFlagPic

Have a patriotic day, won’t you!

7 thoughts on “Blood sugar diet: day 15 of 56

  1. It’s a great feeling to get back into old favorites!

  2. Great stuff, keep it up

  3. I actually don’t like eating lots of carbs now. I’m pretty much in the groove now, with carbs being the exception, rather than the norm.

  4. The curry trap is difficult one to avoid. Well done on getting straight back on the plan though.

    • Thanks, Mhairi1308. One can either say:

      1. “That’s it. I’ve gained weight this week. I’ll *never* lose weight”
      2. “It was just a blip. I’ll get back into the routine.”

      I have chosen option 2, and so far, so good (after a quick , sneaky look on the scales straight after dinner just now).

      Вперед к победе! 😉

Leave a Reply

