Blood Sugar Diet: Day 7 of 56

So, here we go. I have a confession to make. I deviated from the strict programme on the weekend.

We have sinned in thought and word and deed…”

Saturday

Breakfast consisted of two cheese bread rolls (white bread), filled with turkey slices, slice of hard-boiled egg, tomato and lettuce, washed down with a cup of coffee. By no means ideal. However, I am not going to do self-flagellation about it. I had no cravings or hunger pangs for carbs. I just wanted to sit down in my local café, write my diary, have my breakfast and then go. I actually enjoyed my breakfast. However, an hour after eating the rolls, I did feel quite drowsy for nearly an hour. Maybe my body has become averse to bad carbs like processed white bread?

Lunch was Irish (English) breakfast down the Irish pub in the city centre. That was most pleasing to the palate. Arguably it was, notwithstanding portions, not too horrific. I don’t plan to have the all-day breakfast every day. Probably once a quarter. I don’t have the cravings for it.

Evening meal was dinner at the vicarage. Asparagus, creamy potatoes, ham slices, followed by strawberry cake, and washed down with a glass of white wine (Spanish, €7.99 from Kaisers supermarket).

Sunday

Breakfast: two croissants and a coffee at a Bäckerei near church.

Lunch: shared church lunch, a bit of curry, rice, casserole and ginger cake. I enjoyed it.

In the afternoon I was invited out for coffee and biscuits. I enjoyed the biscuits, too. Home-made.

Evening: Stopped off at Turkish café and had doner kebab with a small bottle of Coke zero. My first cola in a week. It tasted really, really nice, I have to say.

Monday (today)

Breakfast: two hard-boiled eggs, with a small amount of Marmite dabbed on to add flavour.

Lunch: bowl of salad in the canteen.

Evening meal: Hallbeshaenchen: half a roast chicken.followed by a Pink Lady apple.

In the evening I attended a lengthy meeting from 20:00 till gone 22:00. There I let my guard down (and the side down), by succumbing to temptation to eat biscuits, probably about ten of them.

Observations

Yes, I did not follow the programme on the weekend. I did try carbs. What have I learnt?

  1. I don’t have cravings for carbs. White bread makes me very drowsy. Next time I will order omelette down my local café, which is more satisfying anyway.
  2. All-day breakfasts are delicious. Next time I will ask for it without the bread. Next time will not be till t’other side of the 8-week diet. (I was showing a colleague round the city centre anyway. Normally I’d have been alone or with Schatz, having a coffee and small lunch together.)
  3. Home-made biscuits are moreish. All biscuits are moreish. Next time I am offered some, I will politely decline.
  4. I feel no shame about vicarage dinner or church lunch. I will not be anal retentive about diet if invited to dinner. I get invited to dinner once every three months anyway. Church lunch I attend once every six months.
  5. Sunday evening meal: next time I’ll bring a packed evening meal to eat on the train when I head home from evening service, or I’ll keep something healthy at home for when I get back to “base.
  6. Tonight I was at a meeting of Church Council. I had brought the tea and biscuits. I should not have touched the biscuits. One biscuit becomes 2, 3, 4… 10 biscuits.

Excuses, excuses? Thin end of the wedge? No. Please spare me the righteous indignation. I applied a variant of the 5:2 rule – 5 days “on-task”, 2 days not on-task. Today, without hesitation or difficulty, I am back on track. Shrug shoulders, move on.

As Erich Honecker once said:

Vorwärts immer, rückwärts nimmer!

Next checkpoint is on day 10: check-up with GP when I found out 3-monthly blood sugar score. Watch this space…

Have an appetising day, won’t you!

2 thoughts on “Blood Sugar Diet: Day 7 of 56

  1. I enjoyed reading this and the honesty in this blog. We all struggle the same way. Through you and other people with diabetes (I am not one though), I have been learning so much about blood sugar levels and the whole bread, pasta drowsiness has been fascinating. I really enjoy these as I can associate with the struggle (one pack of biscuits leads to 2, 3, 4). I’m looking forward to your next update and to see the impact this all has on your blood sugar levels in the long run. Good luck.

  2. You are welcome. My aim is to share the knowledge with other dieters. Today I have been good all day, apart from about 8 Haribo jelly babies. Once REWE have delivered my groceries, I will make myself a nice dinner.

Leave a Reply

