Birthday Nostalgia

So, last week was my birthday: 21 again, and more.

Where was I on that day of the year…?

  • 10 years ago: Doing pgce teacher training in Middlesbrough.  Not my cup of tea.  Ler’s just leave it at that.
  • 20 years ago: Started my first ever permanent job, working in the International Programme Liaison team at Mercury Communications Ltd.  I did a lot of telecoms courses in that year.
  • 30 years ago: At sixth form college in Middesbrough, re-sitting my O-levels.  That was where I started studying Russian.
  • 40 years ago: At Wolfenbüttel Primary School, near the East-West German border, being sent to the headmaster’s office to take a phone call from my Dad, then stationed at HMP Maze, Northern Ireland, to wish me happy birthday.

Have a nostalgic day, won’t you!

4 thoughts on “Birthday Nostalgia

  1. Belated Happy Birthday – hope you had a great 21st!

  2. I’m very late in wishing you a happy birthday! Would you be so kind as to

  3. Sorry…to inform me what PGCE training is?

  4. Hi there. It’s an acronym for “postgraduate certificate of education,” the standard teacher training course in the UK.

Leave a Reply

