Let’s Talk About God!

So, today I’m on standing on my street in an easierly direction, taking in some fresh air and admiring the blue skies before heading to the dentist’s.

A middle-aged lady walks up to me.  (I’ll translate into English.)

Lady: Good morning.  May I give you this leaflet?

GiG: Hmm, yes, please do.

It’s a leaflet about Jehovah’s Witnesses and their faith.  And I haven’t even had my first coffee of the day.  Not to worry.  As a former soldier in the British Army (for I was once LCpl GermanGinge), I had my SOP (standard operating procedure) ready for use: action on being accosted by a Jehovah’s Witness/Mormon etc.

GiG: D’you know, I’d really love to talk to you about God.

Jehovah’s Witness: Really?

GiG: Of course.  For it was God who created this wonderful blue sky and me and you!

JW: Indeed.  How nice that we can talk about God and…

GiG: So, what do you think about Leviticus 18:22?

JW: Er…

GiG: And do you fully agree with the sentiments in Ezekiel 25:17?

JW: Well…

GiG: And of course I’d love to discuss with you many aspects of typology in relation to Joseph and aspects of the New Testament.

JW: Remind me about Leviticus…

GiG: 18:22?  Come on, as a Christian, you should know that one off by heart!

JW: I’m very sorry.  I seem to have forgotten it. 

GiG: In that case, why don’t you come to my church, Christ Church Anglican, near the Messe, or I can come to your house, and we can talk about God there?  How about that?

JW: Oh, I’m so sorry.  I have to go.

GiG: But I thought you wanted us to talk about God?  Please don’t go!

Have a proselytising day, won’t you!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About God!

  1. Sehr schön geschrieben. Den Spieß umdrehen sagt man 🙂

  2. Germanginge, I enjoyed the dialogue you posted. It is accurate when it comes to them not truly wanting to “talk about God.” However, let’s pray for them to have the scales removed from their eyes, no?

Leave a Reply

