The Jesus Prayer

Tomorrow is Good Friday, in German, Karfreitag (“Friday of Sorrows”).  I think the German version summarises the day more effectively than the English version.  I understand that Good Friday is meant to mirror the Jewish Yom Kippur (“Day of Atonement”).  Today, I’ve been thinking about my sins, and that reminded me of the Jesus Prayer:

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner. 

Amen

For more information on the Jesus prayer, here’s a link:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jesus_Prayer

It’s a good simple prayer.  Arguably the Lord’s Prayer is just a variant.

Have a prayerful day, won’t you!

Leave a Reply

