IYFEG’s sind hier unerwünscht?

Vocab point: IYFEG – Insert Your Favourite Ethnic Group.  (I think I got that from alt.humor 25 years ago, when there were no websites, just bulletin boards.  Believe it or not, I was  great fan of alt.tasteless.

I digress.

My headline was deliberately provocative.  From being seen as the bogeyman of Europe (Greece, two world wars and one World Cup etc), Germany is now being seen as the nice guys of Europe, opening the door to hundreds of thousands of refugees from the Middle East and Africa.

I don’t want to get into a discussion about why Germany, whether they are illegal immigrants, economic migrants, etc.  Suffice it to, I think Merkel’s policy of hospitality is good PR for Germany, but has she thought it through logistically and in terms of infrastructure?  What about shortages of:

  • Housing
  • Teachers
  • Employment

I can’t help but thinking Merkel, uncharacterisitically for a scientist and physist, acted impulsively and with heart, not head.

Have an impulsive day, won’t you!

Leave a Reply

