7/7 and me

Today is 7/7/15.

On 7/7/05 I was staying in London and intending to come back up north that morning. Lying in bed, I thought, “Should I have an extra five minutes in bed before heading off to King’s Cross?”

I decided not to. Five minutes after I arrived at King’s Cross, I heard the gates into the Tube station slamming shut. “Probably another false security alert,” I thought.

Fifteen minutes later I got a phone call from my mum (who never rings me) to tell me about all the explosions.  I thought, “Thank God I did not spend those extra five minutes in bed.” RIP all the victims of 7/7.

Have a thankful day, won’t you!

Leave a Reply

