Leaving on a Jet Plane

End of January 2012 I started the latest phase in my ex-pat life, little expecting that I would be “relieved of my duties” three months later.  Like the Murphy’s, I’m not bitter.  It has created a strange chain of events, leading me to be an IT contractor, working in the telecoms industry.  Since December 2014 I have been working on projects within commuting distance of London.  Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, an’ all that, it pays the bills, gives me experience for the next role, and keeps the brain ticking over.

Then there’s the downside.  The reason I moved to Germany was to, er, stay in Germany.  That is still my plan, and we shall see what happens with one particular project in Düsseldorf come the autumn.  (I have made a note in my diary to contact the relevant people nearer to October).  In the meantime, when life throws lemons at you, make lemonade.  Given that my current project pays embarrassingly good money, I intend to build up a nest egg to enjoy some good holidays with Schatz.

I can cope with the separation far better than Schatz can.  “Train hard, fight easy” is the slogan of the British Army, and that philosophy trickles down to pads brats.  Today: Garrison town A in Germany, tomorrow Garrison town B in England or Hong Kong or Northern Ireland or Brunei.  Today: Wolfenbüttel, tomorrow Sandhurst, the day after Bovington, and then, and then…

Poor Schatz.  She’s too harsh on herself, calling herself “too weak.”  Schatz is not weak.  She’s “just” missing me while dealing with lots of other issues at the same time.  Rest assured, however, once I get my first pay packet (which will make me and my bank manager at the Stadtsparkasse very happy), I’ll be seeing a lot of Heathrow and Düsseldorf airports.  Four weeks and counting till I spend pretty much every weekend back in the Altstadt and the Ruhrpott again.

Singt mit!

Leaving on a Jet Plane

Have a jet-set day, won’t you!

3 thoughts on “Leaving on a Jet Plane

  1. Ohne Dich ist auch nicht gut 🙂

Leave a Reply

