Better Five Hours Late in this world…

Better five hours late in this world that five decades early into the next.

That’s what I thought on Sunday when my Germanwings flight from Heathrow to Düsseldorf was cancelled, and my next flight was delayed again and again till I arrived home five hours late.

I arrived in DUS at 23:59 local time.

Despite the delay, when I happily sat, read my paperback, wrote my diary, listened to music and surfed the web on my Kindle, just as I would have done at home, I consider myself a lucky man.  Earlier in that week 150 Germanwings were killed in a suicide-mass murder.  To quote Private Joker in Full Metal Jacket:

I’m in a world of shit… yes. But I am alive. And I am not afraid. 

Just relieved, grateful and tired.

Have a thankful day, won’t you!

Leave a Reply

