The Acute Phase

Every now and again I hear an expression and think:

Now, that’s worth borrowing and using.

Past examples include the following words and expressions:

  • Fit for purpose
  • Paucity
  • Notwithstanding
  • Albeit
  • Schadenfreude

and much, much more.

My latest “I like that” comes courtesy of Schatz, who is a doctor.  I’ll translate the expression into English:

The acute phase

It’s medical jargon, but very relevant when used generically.  I like it because it reminds me that all problems are temporary, usually solveable, and that there is light at the end of the tunnel.

At the moment I’m (reluctantly) “posted away” back in the UK, whereas I’d far rather be in Düsseldorf, near Schatz, near my friends, the Altstadt, etc, etc.  Instead I’m working on a project, and earning good money, working on a rather sticky project, going through the acute phase, the painful phase.

I need to keep:

  • Praying about it
  • Talking to my friends and colleagues whenever I reach a choke point
  • Reminding myself that we are making progress, albeit like swimming through treacle
  • Be focussed on the deadline, which our team will achieve
  • Setting aside time for fresh air and exercise each day to keep the blood pressure from getting too high
  • Thinking of Karneval weekend back in DUS, which I plan to enjoy with Schatz: Schunkeln time 🙂

Another phrase I am fond of is the following analogy:

Like emptying a swimming pool with a teaspoon

Boy, do I relate to that analogy on this project…

Have an acute day, won’t you!

One thought on “The Acute Phase

  1. Pingback: The Acute Phase | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

