My favourite Psalm: 130

So, mid-July was my last day in paid employment.  Luckily, the job was so well-paid, that I built up some savings, which will take me to the end of December.  Thereafter, it’s time to apply for Harz IV, the German equivalent of the UK’s Income Support.  Unless, of course, I get a job.  Pleeeeeeeeeease, God!

Which brings me to Psalm 130, the first verse of which goes thus:

Out of the depths I cry to you, Lord;
Lord, hear my voice.
Let your ears be attentive
to my cry for mercy.

Yesterday I had reached a low ebb, having started the day before starting to use up the last month of my savings.  There’s that paranoia that whispers into my ear:

  • What next?
  • Will I end up homeless?
  • Where will I live? Germany or UK?
  • What will my health be like?
  • What does the future hold?
  • Etc, etc

Must fears are borne of insecurity and being alone, as indeed I was yesterday morning.

I took action.  I went online and submitted a prayer request on a church website:

Father God

Psalm 130 – Out of the depths I cry to you, Lord; Lord, hear my voice.  Let your ears be attentive to my cry for mercy.

I am a miserable sinner. I cannot take much more. I am jobless. I am not in good health. Please give me hope and a workplace. In your son Jesus’ name.  Amen

Yes, I was, to use British understatement, not full of cheer.  Now I’m much happier.  Like the song goes, what a difference a day makes.  In fact, it was more a matter of hours, not even a day.  Shortly before teatime yesterday, I received two phone calls.

  1. Are you interested in a full-time business analyst role near Cologne?   Ginge in Germany: Yes, I am.  Good, in that case, we’ll send your CV to our client this evening.
  2. Are you interested in working on month-long contract working for your last employer on 400 pounds a day – in the London area, with the chance of the contract being rolled over?  We’ve seen your references, and they are very positive.  Ginge in Germany: Yes I am.  I have an aunt who lives near that office.  I can stay with her.  (I can and will fly back to DUS every weekend to see Schatz.  Or pay for her to fly to London to practise her English.)

To quote another song (by Ian Dury), Reasons To Be Cheerful.  (But to quote an ex-schoolfriend of mine, “Feet firmly on ground, please.”

I really should pray more.  There was a quote I once heard:

The more I prayed, the more I found coincidences kept happening.

Have a prayerful day, won’t you!

 

 

One thought on “My favourite Psalm: 130

  1. Pingback: My favourite Psalm: 130 | Christians Anonymous

Leave a Reply

