Forgive and Forget

We are told in the Bible to forgive.

Forgive us our trespasses,

As we forgive those who trespass against us.

Today I received an email, the first two sentences of which:

  • Asked how I was
  • Noted that I had de-friended the author of the mail from Facebook (the modern-day equivalent of excommunication, I guess, with bell, book and Kindle)
  • Asked how my significant other was
  • Asked how my job was going

The rest of the mail was a copy and paste of a survey request to provide feedback on the writer’s interpersonal skills.  Well, the answer is, as I learnt on my interrogator course many moons ago, ICATQ.  I cannot answer that question.

The trouble is, that person sent me a very nasty email in the summer, which left me feeling nauseous and on the verge of tears.  Please do not accuse me of being disingenuous.  Punkt.

I forgive that person, and I genuinely wish them well, but I also want to forget that person.  Surround yourself with radiators, not drains, a lesson it has taken me decades to learn.  Experience is the best teacher: one’s own is the harshest of all.

Leave a Reply

