Stand-Up: Can I do it?

Let’s start with some words of wisdom.

Self-praise is no recommendation.

Well, that’s what some people say.  People have been saying to me, “You’re a funny guy.  You say funny things.”  Not being Italian (how could I be with my ginger looks?), my answer is not Goodfellas “Funny how?  Do I amuuuuuuuuuuuuuse you?”  More a case of, maybe, just maybe, I should, in fact, give stand-up a try.  Open mike spot?  Who does one in DUS?  Google search.  Ah, found a place.  Open mic for music once a month.  Worth a try.  Email to be composed  tonight as must-do task du jour.

So, stand-up comedy.  Arguably much harder to do than live music.  Nobody heckles a band.  Stand-up nowadays is no longer mother-in-law jokes and, “So this IYFEGian walks into a bar…”  (Vocab point – IYFEG: Insert Your Favourite Ethnic Group.)

  • How do you get into stand-up?
  • Just because you’re good at writing funny one-liners, does that mean you can and should do it live – on stage – in front of an audience – within spitting distance?
  • Is comedy one of things that looks easy, but isn’t?

But heck, what have I got to lose?

Some people are naturally funny.  Some people are naturally good singers or painters.  But music and art teachers are abundant.  I’ve decided to order Performing Live Comedy, by Chris Ritchie, due to delivered to my Packstation tomorrow.

http://www.amazon.de/gp/product/1408146436/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

“Why order it if you’re so funny?”  Comedy is a serious business, and it’s all in the preparation.  Fail to plan, plan to fail.  Modern stand-up comedy a version of story-telling.  Can anyone (can you) just stand up on the stage, “cold,” and just tell a story?  No.  There has to be a beginning, middle and end.  What’s my USP?  What’s my spin?  What’s my angle?  Maybe the British Comedy Ambassador to Germany?

So back of envelope gap analysis complete.  Questions:

  • Do I have the place, where Ican try and open mic spot in DUS?  Answer: Found a place, an Irish bar, because I have to start with an Anglophone audience.  I’ll leave it to Henning Wehn to do the stand-up in a foreign lingo.
  • Do I have the talent?  I think I do, or at least the potential.  There’s really only one way to find out.
  • Do I have the material?  Yes, probably.  if I have blog material, I probably have material for stand-up.
  • What’s the worst that can happen?  Five minutes of bored silence.  I can deal with five minutes of bored silence and later being told over a pint, “That was dismal.”

Well, for someone who’d like to be stand-up comedian, I can’t really think of clever punchline to end with which to end this article.  Hang on, I know.  I’m a practising Christian, so it has to be…

Good night, God bless.

One thought on “Stand-Up: Can I do it?

Leave a Reply

