We’ll Meet Again – Just Not This Time Round…

So, today in my email inbox I received a very interesting email from my alumni association.  Two items:

  1. Forthcoming departmental reunion this October (Bit far, especially at short notice, so, sorry, I can’t make it)
  2. Launch of book, Windows on Russia and Eastern Europe, which, from the sneak previews, looks a very good read

Then I started thinking about university days and all the mythology about university that they used to tell you at sixth form in the late 80’s.

  • “The people you meet at university stay friends for life.” (Really?)
  • “University will set you up for life.” (Really – maybe if you’ve already had a good start.)
  • “People at university are the future leaders of this country.” (Do three or four years at university make that much difference?)

Where are they now?  What are they doing?  No, I mean, what are they really up to?  Not what do they claim to be doing in their alumni “Where Are They Now?” updates.  Are university friends really friends, or are they just mates, ships that pass in the night?

Then I remember some wise words.

If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain and bitter; for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself. Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans.

The Desiderata

***

Remember: Your mates are not your friends.

(Royal Military Police crime prevention poster, on display at Imphal Barracks, York, 1993)

***

Then I think, time for a song, and TGIF, well, TGIF in a few hours.  No, I will not be dancing to this, or any tune.  I am white, male and heterosexual.  I have no sense of rhythm.

Leave a Reply

